WOW My very first large mouth bass!

Please report your GIANT fish stories here !

Moderators: Stan Wright, roadwarriorsvt

BadBass
master baiter level

WOW My very first large mouth bass!

Postby BadBass » Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:12 am

We also caught one peacock bass, red devil, and a catfish. Tha bass was the highlight though. I usually use live bait because im new to the lake, we where about to call it the day when we saw some action at the top of the water so i threw out my best rapala style lure. As i was retrieving it i felt like i was getting stuck on the bottom as i reeled it in..? Wait a minute i'm way to deep to be catching the bottom that was a fish! So i recast to the same spot and jigged the lure with longer strokes and then BAM hook up! As it got closer to the boat i was like what the heck is that? I had totally been focusing on the tuc's and forgot that the lake has large mouth bass.

Anyway im learning how to fish the lake slowly and learning the different ways to fish there. Thank you for all the information on this forum. See you on the lake.

Aloha,
BadBass
one badbass fisherman

roadwarriorsvt
King Sushi level

Postby roadwarriorsvt » Mon Aug 31, 2009 8:14 am

Thats a nice looking Tuc there! 8)

Stan Wright
King Sushi level

Postby Stan Wright » Mon Aug 31, 2009 8:36 am

Good catch. On those schooling fish busting at the surface.... try casting a gold CastMaster.

I'm glad to hear your catching.
:D
"Why let the truth stand in the way of a good fish story?"

skunked
King Sushi level

Postby skunked » Tue Sep 01, 2009 1:46 am

Nice job on the Largemouth Bass! I don't catch much of any type of fish, but when I catch a bass, it feels like an accomplishment. I don't feel that way about any other fish in the lake. Did you measure it?
Fishing is fun only if you do it for fun.Image www.texassidewinderrods.com

BadBass
master baiter level

Postby BadBass » Tue Sep 01, 2009 12:07 pm